Dene Metis Agreement In Principle

The Sahtu Dene and The Metis of Tulita are also negotiating their own self-management agreement. As the municipalities of Norman Wells and Tulita are both located in the Tulita/Norman Wells district of the Sahtu Settlement Area, they have set up an “administrative line” together to delineate the geographical scope of their autonomy and the provision of social programs and services. Although a Métis government has been proposed as a possibility elsewhere in Canada, the land corporation is the first to sign an agreement in principle for the creation of a business. As part of the FSGA negotiations, the parties will negotiate other important agreements and plans, including: According to a press release from the Federal Ministry of Crown-Indigenous Relations in August, negotiations are underway for a final agreement. In August last year, the Norman Wells Land Corporation and regional and regional governments launched the principle of the proposed agreement. 4. Can the Sahtu Dene and Métis self-government? Yes, Chapter 5 of the CMCSC provides that the government and the Sahtu Dene and Métis can negotiate autonomy agreements that are consistent with their particular circumstances and in accordance with the Constitution of Canada. The SElf government`s negotiations are in line with the desire of Sahtu Dene and Métis for autonomy as close to the community level as possible. This agreement codified that the Sahtu Dene and Métis were responsible for more than 40,000 square kilometres of land in the Mackenzie River Valley.

The territory is rich in natural resources and there are constant proposals to develop different sites. Dene and Métis in Norman Wells, N.W.T., moved closer to the Final Agreement on Self-Management after signing an agreement in principle on Wednesday – so they are the first Métis representative group in Canada to reach that milestone. – Dene are Aboriginal in the Northwest Territories. The Métis began as descendants of white fathers and Aboriginal mothers during the early years of Canada`s colonization, and their descendants quickly developed into their own Aboriginal community. Between 1781 and the early 20th century, many contracts from “Indian” countries were signed in Canada. In these agreements, the natives ceded their land to the white settlers of Canada in exchange for vulnerable people. They have also often received other free services such as education and medical care. Unfortunately, the two parties often had a different view of what they had agreed to do. Settlers generally considered it an economic transaction, whereas the natives thought they were signing friendship contracts. In 1899, the Aboriginal peoples of the Mackenzie Valley of the Northwest Territories signed Treaty 8, which included present-day northern Alberta, northwestern Saskatchewan and a small portion of the Northwest Territories. In 1921, they signed Treaty 11, which included most of the Mackenzie Valley area of the Northwest Territories.

In the 1970s, dene and Métis in Mackenzie Valley came together to challenge the interpretations of Treaties 8 and 11. They argued that the federal government had not complied with contractual obligations. They also argued that treaties were not a capitulation of the homeland because the natives believed that they were simply signing peace agreements. In the 1970s, Aboriginal groups faced many similar challenges across Canada. The Dene and Métis wanted to resolve a number of issues, including: – land ownership. – control of non-renewable resources. – the protection of hunting, fishing and fishing rights. – conservation of the mother tongue and culture. – compensation for the “past use” of land by non-Indians.

Formal negotiations between the Dene/Métis and the federal government began in 1981.